Today we have a drive: Florida to Texas. This is what I like to refer to as “the home stretch” and this is where I like to do a little jump and twirl at the thoughts of sleeping in my own bed and using reliable bar soap again.

For those of you who don’t know (which I’m assuming is everyone, because I had no clue..) I believe this trek weighs in around a whopping sixteen hours. SIXTEEN.

That’s you sitting down and watching Twilight eight times.

Or watching sixteen episodes of LOST.

Or watching Prizoner of Azkaban five and a half times.

Marring all those possibilities, I alternate between googling tattoo ideas and staring at the marshy Florida foliage (I believe a “marsh” has a technical climate definition? But I have no clue. I just look outside and think wet soggy marshy palmy weirdness).

For all you Floridians, Flo-Ridas, if you will, I’m not hating on your trees and swampy stuff, I’m just baffled. How can it be December?! It feels like August!

Anyway, on this tour I met people who’ve read this here blog and my whole heart melted like a neglected tube of Chapstick in the summer. Each time.

The fact that people actually read this thing is possibly the highest honor (besides if you had like, the URL tattooed on your chest or something, I guess).

20131219-155046.jpg

Seriously, though.

Thank you!

I just hope and pray each one of you will take what you can from these posts and apply it to how you feel about yourself. I genuinely want you to love yourself and know that when you’re stuck, you’ll get unstuck soon, and you’ll have a beautiful story on the other side of it.

Pain is real but purpose is too. Not only that, but it’s permanent.

Pain isn’t.

So this is nothing more (nothing less) than sappy gushy happy me riding sixteen hours, not watching LOST or Twilight or whatever else to pass time but reflecting on how grateful I am to have people I’ve yet to meet be so genuine and kind.

Share your story! Ask for advice! Heck, you can even email me.

karsynhobbs@gmail.com

❀

Oh and ps- Hotel soap sucks and you know all know it.

11 comments

  1. Ryan · December 19, 2013

    Hope you have a safe ride all the way home! It was so nice meeting you at the Space in CT, I was too nervous to talk about reading your blog aha I didn’t want to sound creepy. Thanks for visiting and being so sweet! Have a great holiday. πŸ™‚

  2. ourwakingdreams · December 19, 2013

    Lady, this blog is beautiful! You are reminding us all to see the little things in life and at times that is hard to do, especially while trying to get a hold of emotional/physical challenges. Thank YOU! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see all the posts to come.

  3. taybelms · December 21, 2013

    I found your blog a few months ago and have checked in here and there to see what great things you have to say. I really like your words. I also had similar struggles as you, and although not to as serious of a degree, they still can be haunting things sometimes. Aside from all of that, you just seem like a super cool girl and I love your blue/purple hair to the stars and back and I enjoy following you and the Duprees so much because of all the wonderful things you all get to experience and the things you all say and the babies and God. You all rock. πŸ™‚

    (Also, I would kill for an August in December dealio…it’s too snowy and cold up here in Wisconsin for my liking…but we can’t with them all, hey? πŸ˜‰ )

  4. Angie Menefee · December 30, 2013

    Karsyn you are fantastic! I’ve been a fan of eisley for a long time and since I follow all their instagrams it led me to this spot right now! I used to have an eating disorder as well and looking back, i come to terms that it really is a disorder. And now I have really bad anxiety and everyday I feel disgusting or ashamed or crazy or embarrassed and I never feel proud, but you give me hope:’) and just knowing that there is going to be a brighter day keeps me going! But boy is it a looong exhausting journey.. Anyway I just wanted you to know that you’re my idol and don’t stop doing what you’re doing!

    Ps!
    I recommend reading the sisterhood of traveling pants series hahah it sounds cheesy, but it brings such comfort and I just love em so much
    Love ang:)

  5. Victoria Fielder · January 15, 2014

    Karsyn, ever since i met you in speech class i loved you! You where so nice and had such a great personality. I saw you had blog on instagram so i had to see whats up, and i honestly couldnt stop reading it… You seriously are such a inspirational person and im so glad i got a chance to get to know you in real life and im so happy for you that you found the love of your life! -Tori

    • BlissBranch · January 22, 2014

      Awh, tori! You’re such a sweetie and I hope you’re doing well πŸ™‚

  6. Amy Julian · January 16, 2014

    Dear Karsyn,
    I recently stumbled upon your blog after following you on instagram for quite some time. Upon reading it, I felt instantly inspired and understood. I’ve struggled with an anxiety disorder for nearly my entire life. For a long time, I chalked all of my thoughts and fears up to shyness. I figured they would somehow disappear, that I would wake up one day to find myself transformed into a beautiful social butterfly. As you know, that is not how it works. It was actually quite the opposite. Each day upon waking up I felt more lost, and more weighed down by fear and irrational thoughts. For a long time I had no idea that other people felt the same way. I struggled all through high school not knowing what was wrong with me. It wasn’t until my junior year, after losing my mom to Cancer, that I was diagnosed with an anxiety disorder. Of course, being diagnosed isn’t the same thing as being cured. It takes time. A lot of it. As I got older my anxiety began to affect me in so many different ways. I eventually developed an eating disorder, that I still have never really fessed up to. It wasn’t until I met my boyfriend that I began eating normally, but even now I can’t look at food without mentally adding up how many calories it contains. I was lucky enough to find someone who understands my disorder and is extremely supportive, but it’s still a struggle. It seems that there are so many people who don’t fully understand what an anxiety disorder is. So many people seem to take it lightly, like it’s something to sweep under the rug and forget about. They don’t realize that even though I may appear confident, inside I’m fighting the toughest battle, just to walk into the grocery store. I guess what I’m trying to say is, in my life very few people have been able to understand me. So, stumbling upon your blog was a huge blessing to me. I appreciate and admire your bravery more than you know. I know how terrifying it is to put yourself out there, but you should be so proud of yourself for doing it. So many people are being inspired by your courage. Thank you for being you, and listening to me ramble. You’re truly an angel!

    Love,
    Amy

    • BlissBranch · January 22, 2014

      Amy, I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to see and reply to this remarkable comment! You seem like an incredibly strong and wise person from your struggles and I’m glad you know you’re not alone in anything! Neither one anxiety disorder nor eating disorder are the same, yet we all of us struggling need someone to comfort us and let us know we’re not alone. You’re never alone! I can’t thank you enough for sharing a bit of your journey, and I have the best of hopes and prayers for the remainder of your life and fight against your anxiety. It does get better! πŸ™‚

      • Amy Julian · January 23, 2014

        No need for apologies, love! You’re a busy young bride to be! Thanks so much for your reply. You’re the sweetest! Also, CONGRATU-FREAKIN-LATIONS on your engagement!! I wish you the best of luck in this new journey of your life. I plan on donating to your wedding fund asap! ❀

  7. Ashley Dunston · January 18, 2014

    Love love love this, girl! Congrats to both of you. So happy that you’ll be officially joining the DuPree family!!

    Here’s my proposal story (got engaged about a month and a half ago) :

    http://ashleydunston.tumblr.com/post/69792763831/how-did-he-do-it

    Feel free to email/Instagram/Pinterest me if you want to rant about wedding planning! Thoughts, prayers and happiness to both of you!

    Ashley

    • BlissBranch · January 22, 2014

      I can’t remember if I replied to you or not sweet girl, but oh my god! Your day is so incredible and beautiful! Collin and I gawked at all your photos! You are a blessing and I’m so happy you got your fairytale ending.

Leave a Reply

